While reading Confessions of an Economic Hitman I was reminded of the movie ‘Cube‘. In this scene David Worth and Helen Holloway are debating the possible origin of the strange contraption they are trapped in. Helen thinks it is the result of some huge conspiracy.

David: This may be hard for you to understand, but there’s no conspiracy. Nobody is in charge. It’s a headless blunder operating under the illusion of a master plan. Can you grasp that? Big brother is not watching you.

Helen: What kind of fuckin’ explanation is that?

David:It’s the best you are gonna get. I looked, and the only conclusion I could come to is that there is nobody up there.

Helen: Somebody had to say yes to this thing.

David: What thing? Only we know what it is.

Helen: We have no idea what it is.

David: We know more than anybody else. I mean, somebody might have known sometime before they got, they got fired, or voted out, or sold it, but if this place ever had a purpose, and it got miscommunicated, or lost in a shuffle. I mean, this is an accident, a forgotten perpetual public works project. Do you think anybody wants to ask questions? All they want is a clear conscience, and a fat paycheck. I leaned on my shovel for months on this one. This was a great job!

Helen: Why put people in it?

David: Because it’s here. You have to use it or you admit it’s pointless.

Quintin: But it is pointless

David: That’s my point.

Helen: What have we come to? It’s so much worse than I thought.

David: Not really. Just more pathetic.

Quintin: You make me sick, Worth.

David: I make me sick too. We’re both part of the system. I drew a box, you walk a beat. It’s like you said, Quentin, keep your head down, keep it simple, just look at what’s in front of you. I mean, nobody wants to see the big picture. Life’s too complicated. I mean, let’s face it, the reason we’re here is that it’s out of control.

Helen: This is how we ruin the world?

