I feel deeply humbled by the amount of interesting information that has lately been appearing on this blog. The other side of this blog (whether he is the darker or lighter one is yet to be distinguished) has been doing a fair amount of work, while I have been spending all my time writing a dissertation and studying for exams. Isn’t life bliss. Yes, even I have been forced to sharpen the pencil, energise the computer and get my act together. In other words I have become boring, something I have dreaded since the second of my birth.

But do not despair, it shall be over in 3 weeks or a millenium.

And so that I redeem myself for all that whining, I shall add a little something to the literary pool of information that has been growing on the blog.

I have just finished Neil Gaiman’s American Gods, which is luckily a work of fiction (only the second one I have read in the past 6 months), and even more luckily, a tremendous amount of fun. It’s as dark as the author’s name implies, and what’s more, it gives the reader more information on the various gods, goddesses and deities of this world, than a very thorough encyclopedia. I was happy to note various East-European gods that I, a citizen of the East-European kingdom, have not known of myself. Nothing is better than being beaten on your home gorund, by an English man living in America no less.
But to return to the discussion on hand. I have been noting a recent trend in popular art – films, books, music and what have you. Mythology, mysticism and religion have been gaining strength in popular art, and the smart (and some less smart) people who fuel the modern pop culture are finally informing us of some things that matter to me and people like me. Hollywood is doing it in a rather primitive way, emitting the important and focusing on the popular. It scares me to think that the majority of people on this planet who have heard of Troy will only know of the Hollywood version. They’ll also say that Troy was rather shit, which doesn’t hurt Hollywood, but definitely hurts ancient literature. While Hollywood manages to make a mockery of the process, some literary authors do a pretty good job. And that’s where Neil Gaiman steps in. Not only is his book great (if a little bit predictable towards the end), long, and enchanting; it also includes a rather large database of information on mythology and obscure American geography. What more could you ever want out of a book?

Well, that book finished, I moved to an arena that’s been closer to my heart in the last months. I started reading Ramsey Duke’s book on Satanism, Black Magic and other Such Niceties. When my girl-friend noticed what I was reading, she said: ‘Where do you get that shit?’

